Life’s little lesson

When mom had come home to stay with us, most of the times, she cooked the food. I helped her with cutting the veggies and she prepared the dish.

One day, I prepared one veggie dish and the other one was prepared by mama. The dish that I prepared didn’t turn out to be as good as it always used to be. There was something missing in the dish and I realized it the moment I tasted it. Mama served both the veggies in her plate and she started to have. I knew that she also realized that there was something slightly missing in the dish, but she smiled and said,”It has turned out to be tasty”. It was probably the first or the second time she had something that I prepared from the core and she didn’t want to make me feel demotivated by saying there is a slight mistake πŸ™‚ But, I realized my mistake and I told her where I went wrong while preparing. She said, “Yes, probably that could have enhanced the taste. Nevertheless, the dish is nice” πŸ™‚ I smiled. She had it and even asked me to pack it in her tiffin. She was leaving for home-town on the same day. Though she asked me to pack only the veggie that I made, I silently packed the one that she made πŸ˜‰ I must say, I was happy that she had the dish prepared by me though it was not up to the mark. At the same time, I knew I had fallen short and I need to improve. Falling short in front of the person whom you’ve learnt from all your life can certainly push you for further improvement. Mama left and I promised to myself that I will improve my culinary skills.

From that day, I have been consciously making an effort to become a better cook. S often tells me that I cook well and his compliments motivate me a lot. Recently, I again prepared the same dish again. And, you know what, it turned out to be so good. On the same day, when mama called me I reminded her of the incident. I told her that I tried it again without making a mistake this time. And, it has turned out to be good. I even told her where I learnt the dish from and how much I like it. I was feeling so happy while I narrated it to her πŸ˜€

I learnt one thing that day from mama. If you motivate someone by appreciating the effort the person has taken, the person would never feel bad about the little mistakes that he\she has made. Instead, he would realize and work towards improvement with a positive spirit.
I must keep this lesson with me always πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “Life’s little lesson

    • That’s true dear πŸ™‚ We ought to learn to appreciate.. When somebody makes with love and we directly criticize, I hurts the person.. Instead, if we appreciate the effort and explain the little improvements that can be done in a loving way, the person gets motivated and performs better πŸ™‚

  1. I would love to like this post a hundred times, only if I could!

    This post reminded me of all the times amma praised my efforts, when I know I was not up to my best. I started cooking when I was ten years old Snow, I was so interested. But at that age, there were many disasters than good outcomes from the kitchen. Never once did amma ask me get out of her kitchen or stop wasting her things. She sometimes says – “Wow so tasty” even before she tastes my food. And I will sometimes catch her doing that and then she says – Whatever you cook would be wonderful to me. if I love cooking now and cook a variety of dishes, its because of all the encouragement she keeps giving me.

    I have seen this happen many other times too.. its easy to find fault, but its such a great deed to appreciate someone’s efforts. Not many do it well, which is a pity.

    Moms are great πŸ™‚ Thanks for the post Snow. Took me back in time.

    • You are most welcome dear πŸ™‚ You started at the age of ten! I must say that was very early.. Guess you could participate in “Masterchef Junior” if the television people had conducted such a show in those times πŸ™‚ And, your mom is a real sweetheart πŸ™‚ After all those experiments and the encouragement you got, I am sure now you are really good cook and your mom must be really proud of you..
      I am glad this post reminded you of lovely moments from the past πŸ™‚ Happy cooking!! πŸ™‚

    • hehe πŸ˜€ .. That’s good … If your life-partner and your mother are happy with your food, what more you’d ask for!.. Can’t please everybody, right? πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

