Talking in a meditative manner

There are a few people in one’s life with whom a person can interact peacefully. By peacefully, I mean in a meditative way. It is like you share thoughts with the person and the person concurs and understands every single bit of it. The conversation has equal participation from both ends in terms of talking and listening.
This generally happens when –
1.The person knows you really well and understands every bit of what you say.
2.The person has been through greater experiences in life that he/she has already reached a higher level of understanding.

When you talk to such people, the words keep flowing like a slow stream. The mind gets so peaceful and happy during the conversation that you’d never want the conversation to stop. I have shared an such understanding space with a few in my life.

One of them is my first sister. I remember, when I was doing my engineering, she used to eagerly wait for me to come home during my holidays. On the day I reached home, we would stay awake all night. We would talk over innumerable topics for hours together. It was never difficult to start off on any topic. The topic could something as random as – “How Nature got created so wonderfully?”, and we would discuss over it for hours, completely losing track of time. At times, mama would wake up in the middle of the night. She would ask us to disclose our discussion and get back to bed. But, we’d assure her that we’d sleep off in a while and we’d get back to our conversation. Today, I talked to her in the morning. And, like every other time, the conversation was so peaceful.

There is one more person with whom I have peaceful interactions. Guess who? 🙂 The smile made the answer very obvious, hasn’t it? Yes, it is my husband. We often discuss over a lot of things in the world. And, we just go on for hours. Most of the time during the discussion, we understand each other and concur on a lot of thoughts. Even if we don’t agree upon something at the first time, we try to make each other understand and finally we end up on the same page. One of the major reasons why we selected each other was the understanding we shared amongst us. I always feel relaxed and nice after talking to him too.

When I talk to such people, I realise conversing is also a way of meditation. If the conversation goes on peacefully for a long time and makes us happy, it has similar effects on the mind as those of meditation. I’m sure each one of us has a set of such people in life. Whenever we feel the need to relax, we ought to talk to those people. The best part about talking to them is that, though our minds are crowded with hundreds of thoughts, we feel at peace after talking to them.

So friends, here is a little advice from my end –
1.Identify such people in your life (Which I’m sure you would have done already!)
2.Talk to them whenever possible to be at peace (Which I’m sure you do, but try to do more often, especially when you are flooded with thoughts. Frankly speaking, I’m also trying!)

As the weekend winds up, let me wind up my conversation too. Hope you’ll had a wonderful weekend and let’s look forward to the next one 😉

Leave a Reply

